Sam Castle

About

I am a second-year PhD student in the Computer Science & Engineering department at the University of Washington. I am currently working in the ICTD Lab, and I am interested in how emerging technologies can be used in underresourced communities.

As an undergraduate, I studied math, physics, and computer science at Davidson College in North Carolina. My favorite courses were Data Structures and Modern Physics, and my favorite non-STEM course was Asian Meditation Texts, during which I particularly enjoyed reading the works of Thich Nhat Hanh.

I am also interested in international studies---I studied German for 5 years and participated in a German exchange program in 2009. I also pursued undergraduate coursework in Latin American studies, and I worked in Chile for a semester in 2015.

For more detail on my professional background, download my CV.

Hobbies

I spend the majority of my free time hiking, backpacking, cycling, playing ultimate frisbee, playing soccer, and repairing bicycles. I grew up and lived most of my life in the Southern Appalachians in South and North Carolina, but I am beginning to appreciate life amongst the Olympics and Cascades. In the summer of 2015, I rode my bicycle from Yorktown, VA to San Francisco, CA, with my lovely wife and sister-in-law (see picture). Nine-week vacations are difficult to arrange, but one day I hope to repeat a similar cycling trip.
Bicycles at the Pacific Ocean

© I built this page with Bootstrap and last updated it in August 2016.